Life or Death

Steve Frank
Psalming Sermons

--

A movement from death.
From death not recognized.
Death not seen as…

Death

Until the…

Savior

The Savior who brought…

Life

Jesus, who brought life from death.
For he died.
An innocent man,
ㅤ put to death.
Tortured.
Killed.

Crucified

A death predicted but not accepted.
A resurrection foreshadowed but not believed.
A return to life,
ㅤ a gift of life…

Doubted

For it seemed impossible.
Irrational.
Even troubling.
Frightening.

Yet Jesus reassures.
Offers himself.
Invites interaction.
Enables connection.
Assuages doubts.
Jesus asserts his…

Godhood

Jesus demonstrates,
ㅤ proves,
Who he is.
Not simply a great teacher.
Not just a kind person.
He is the…

Messiah

The giver,
ㅤ the redeemer,
Of life.
The one who offers…

Good News

And with this good news,
ㅤ Jesus meets us where we are.
In our doubts he approaches us.
Reassures us.
Reminds us who he is.
Encourages our faith.
Enables our…

Obedience

Obedience in the midst of uncertainty.
Of doubt.
He shows us his character,
ㅤ so we can know him.
He grows our relationship.
He grows our…

Trust

He grows our ability to follow him.
To pursue him.
To learn about him.
To learn about his law.
To learn to follow his…

Commands

As we practice believing God,
ㅤ as we practice obeying him,
He responds.
He rescues.
He guides.

And we grow our ability to believe.
Our ability to obey.
Our ability to live in his…

Kingdom

Lord, I believe.
Lord, I believe you.
I know your law points me to your goodness.
To goodness for me.
So I follow.
I obey.
Help me Lord.
Help me to follow your steps,
ㅤ to obey your Word…

Today

Psalming as Performance Art — written in real time, as I sat listening to a teaching by Pastor Larry at North Coast Church, Vista, Dec 10, 2023

--

--

Steve Frank
Psalming Sermons

A programmer discovering himself in poetry…a lifetime preparing to write, now finally putting pen to paper. You’ll find me in my poetry.