Love… is it in You?

Steve Frank
Psalming Sermons

--

Who’s in my circle?
What do they believe?
What do I…

Believe

When you look at me,
when you observe my actions,
Can you see what I believe?
Does how I love show you what…
What I…

Believe?

Do I still believe what I first…

Believed?

For I once found life.
The gift of life
A new life.
A life in the…

Light

I had been walking in darkness.
Not seeing the way.
Not knowing the…

Way

But then…

Christ

His love…
for me.
His death…
for me.
His resurrection…
for me.
His life…

Mine

His way … mine.

But can you see his life?
His life in me?
Do I play by his rules?
Do I love with his…

Love

Is my old self fading?
Is my darkness receding?
Is his light growing?
Is his love…

Showing?

Or do I observe others and create…

Distance?

Do I search out,
do I see only,
How others are…

Wrong?

Do I seek to be…

Right?

Or do I strive to be…

Loving

Am I trying to look right?
Or am I striving to be made…

Righteous?

Am I seeking to obtain Christ’s transformation,
or am I attempting to attain my own perfection?
Am I pursuing God as my own,
or am I trying to be my own…

God

Am I free to love others,
or am I imprisoned by my own…

Hurt?

Am I lifted by Christ’s love,
or am I trapped in a cesspool of hurt.
Of anger.
Of resentment.
Of…

Vengeance

Am I sinking,
am I drowning,
In my own…

Bitterness

Am I living in forgiveness,
or am I demanding my own justice?
Am I living out my adoption,
or am I trying to earn my status?
My status as God’s….

Child

Am I living and loving under God’s power,
the power of his…

Word?

Am I walking in his power,
the power of his Word and Spirit?
Am I overcoming sin through him,
or battling sin alone?
Am I growing to know God,
or do I still know only…

Myself?

Help me Lord.
Help me to know you.
Help me to remember,
to live in,
Your forgiveness.
Help me to live with you in me.

Reveal to me the wonder of your Word.
Refill me with the power of your Spirit.
Rekindle in me the brightness of your light.
Resurrect in me the power of your…

Love

Psalming as Performance Art — written in real time, as I sat listening to a teaching by Pastor Chris at North Coast Church, Vista, 1/21/24

--

--

Steve Frank
Psalming Sermons

A programmer discovering himself in poetry…a lifetime preparing to write, now finally putting pen to paper. You’ll find me in my poetry.