Photo by Jeff Hendricks on Unsplash

The Mystery

Steve ThePsalmist
Psalming Sermons
Published in
2 min readJul 22, 2019

--

Who I am.
Why I am.
The mystery of life…

Revealed

I need this revelation.
Repeatedly,
ㅤ I need this revelation.
For the mystery is more than I can understand.
The story is bigger than I can see.

Instead,
ㅤ I must live in it.
Live in it as it is repeatedly revealed.
This allows the revelation to grow in me.
I begin to feel the story,
ㅤ even as I struggle to understand it.

As the curtain is pulled back,
ㅤ I can only glimpse bits of the truth.
But these glimpses build on each other.
They assemble my view.
And the story begins to make…

Sense

Even in my confusion,
ㅤ I begin to sense the truth.
Even in my disillusionment,
ㅤ I begin to recognize that there is…

Meaning

I begin to know…
To know I have a…

Purpose

In spite of what I see around me,
ㅤ I begin to know…

Who I am.

Why I am.

Though I can see that things are not as they ought to be,
ㅤ I begin to accept the vision…
The vision for how things could be.
How things were meant to be.

And though I can’t make it so,
I begin to believe that someone can.
That there is One who can.
One I can know.
One I can…

Trust

One who has a plan,
ㅤ a design,
For good.
One who has a story I can join.
A story of…

Love

A story of acceptance.
More than that,
ㅤ a story of restoration.
A story that remakes everything,
ㅤ that remakes me,
As I was meant to be.
That gives me life as I was meant to live it.
Life with…

Him

Life with … others.
Life in connection.
Life in relationship.
Life that is full.
Life that is…

Whole

For he knows me.
He knows how I can live.
He shows me.
He shows me how to live.
He grows me.
He helps me to fully…

Live

a bit of performance art — I wrote as the speaker spoke…

--

--