Photo by Tom Allport on Unsplash

The Voice of the Lord

Steve Frank
Psalming Sermons
Published in
2 min readJul 25, 2023

--

Lord, do you speak…

Today?

Do you speak to…

Me?

But how?
How do you speak to me?
How do I hear you?
What do you sound like?
What do you…
ㅤSing
ㅤㅤLike?

Lord, you have given me your Word.
You have given me,
ㅤyou are speaking through…

Jesus

Yesterday
Today
Tomorrow
You…

Speak

I may hear you audibly.
And I need to respond.
I may receive a vision.
And I need to respond.
I may sense your Spirit.
And I need to respond.
I find you in your word.
And I need to respond.

When I hear you,
ㅤyou desire to grow our connection.
You desire that I engage.
So I need to…

Respond

Respond to your leading.
To your guidance.
Simply respond to you drawing near to me.
By drawing near to you.

Lord, today I will listen for your…

Voice

Your still, small, voice.
Your bold, triumphant, voice.
Your gentle voice.
Your mighty voice.
Your blessing voice.
Your voice…
ㅤfull of…

Glory

Your voice,
ㅤspeaking the language of…

Jesus

Lord, you are my Shepard.
My Father.
Abba.
I know your voice.

Lord, bring me into your presence.
I wait expectantly.
Lord, I seek you.
With all my heart,
ㅤI seek you.
Lord, I am listening.
Impress your word upon my…

Heart

Lord, I know your voice.
Help me to hear.
Lord, I know your voice.
Help me to discern.
Lord, I know your voice.
Help me to…

Respond

On Hearing God: Psalming as Performance Art — written in real time, as I sat listening to a teaching from Pastor Aaron on 7/23/23

--

--

Steve Frank
Psalming Sermons

A programmer discovering himself in poetry…a lifetime preparing to write, now finally putting pen to paper. You’ll find me in my poetry.