Photo by Adam Wilson on Unsplash

Transformation

Steve Frank
Psalming Sermons
Published in
2 min readFeb 3, 2024

--

Saved.
Saved,
ㅤ not to remain still,
But to…

Change

Not to change myself,
ㅤ but to be open.
Available,
ㅤ willing,
To be changed.
To be…

Transformed

In saving me,
ㅤ Jesus invites me.
Invites me into the…

Light

He invites me to step out of my past.
To step out of that hopelessness.
To step out of that hurt,
ㅤ not by denying it.
Not by hiding it.
But by seeing it in his light.
By seeing it with his…

Heart

But entering his light…
Feeling his heart…
Is a difficult…

Journey

Because even in his light,
ㅤ we experience darkness.
Even in his love,
ㅤ we experience loneliness.
We continue to experience…

Loss

So we react in anger.
We accuse.
We resist.
We fight.
We…

Hate

Yes, in response to Jesus’ love,
ㅤ we…

Hate

And in that hate,
ㅤ in that hurt,
We set our own lives on…

Fire

Life becomes simply a…

Battle

A battle against others.
A battle against ourselves.
A battle against our own lives.
A battle against…

Hopelessness

A battle against…

Jesus’ Love

But God doesn’t surrender.
He stays in the battle.
Stays in our battle.
And he presses us to…

Surrender

To surrender to his goodness.
To surrender to his love.
To surrender to his truth.
To surrender to his…

Transformation

To surrender to his offer of community.
To surrender to his offer of…

Life

Finally, his resurrection becomes ours.
His life becomes ours.
His salvation becomes ours.
His light becomes ours.
And our life becomes…

His

Lord, I am lost.
Show me your Way.
Lord, I am living a lie.
Teach me your truth.
Lord, I am an orphan.
Adopt me as your…

Child

Lord, I feel alone.
Help me live in your family.
Lord, I feel the darkness.
Show me your light.
Lord, I feel stuck.
Bring me your transformation.
Lord, I feel unacceptable.
Bathe me in your…

Love

Lord, today I reject the lies,
ㅤ and enter into relationship.
Into life in community.
Into life in your light.
Into life in your love.
Into life in your…

Truth

Lord, I am yours.
Make me yours.
Lord, today,
ㅤ yes, today!
I surrender to your…

Transformation

Psalming as Performance Art — written as I sat listening to a testimony shared at a Men’s breakfast at Calvary Chapel Vista, Feb 3, 2024

--

--

Steve Frank
Psalming Sermons

A programmer discovering himself in poetry…a lifetime preparing to write, now finally putting pen to paper. You’ll find me in my poetry.