Photo by Hope House Press on Unsplash

Can You Tell a Book by its Cover?

Steve Frank
Psalming Spurgeon
Published in
1 min readDec 18, 2017

--

Do you attend required religious ceremonies?
Pray at the appointed times?
Can your friends see how diligently religious you are?

Going to church every week.
Raising your hands in worship.
Volunteering.
Writing the weekly check.

Is this what it is to know Jesus?
Do these actions define walking with God?
Or is your faith only skin deep?

Don’t be satisfied to look only at the outside.
What’s in your heart?

Flowers given from the hand instead of the heart carry no meaning.
Religion without a heart turned toward God?
Also meaningless.

Turn your heart towards God,
ㅤand your actions will follow.

Lord, today I turn my heart towards you.
Today I will please you from,
ㅤand with,
My heart.

--

--

Steve Frank
Psalming Spurgeon

A programmer discovering himself in poetry…a lifetime preparing to write, now finally putting pen to paper. You’ll find me in my poetry.