Why do international students want to stay in the UK?

Shuiqing Hu
PSW Visa — Stay in the UK
2 min readDec 13, 2019
Made by Shuiqing Hu

“The economic system is better than Thailand and I think I get more chance to find a job and the salary is better, I mean the quality of life overall is like better than Thailand” Alex, a student from Thailand, told me.

The high salary is the key reason why foreign students want to stay, and a sound social welfare system is also very attractive.“So I think money is the most main thing people do want to stay here, the lifestyle is much better here, and then the free health care which they get,” Nancy said. She is from India, and now she is studying her education PhD degree in UCL.

In addition to money and living standards, she also cares about the professionalism of the British education system. “Here’s also a good point to say that the experience is very good here because the teaching is completely different from India, so I think I will get more knowledge if I work here. But then again, in India, you can’t expect the salary like here.”

Image on Flickr
Non-EEA Passenger arrivals (thousands) by purpose of journey

In recent years, more and more people come to Britain to work and study. Last year, British universities educated about 460000 international students, excluding those from within the European Union. The government aims to increase this number to 600000 within the next 10 years.

--

--