Are logic problems good substitutes for traditional interview questions?

NLai
Psyc 406–2015
Published in
2 min readFeb 6, 2015

Please tell me why you are the best candidate for this position.

I have taken countless exams in my life and as I near the end of my undergraduate career I can only think of the exams that I will be taking after I receive my diploma. Interviews will become the new final exams that will determine if I will move up in my career or not; whether I get into my dream medical school; or whether I get that new, more exciting job.

As I talk to more fellow graduates about interviews there is a recurrent theme in the style of interviews that everyone has encountered. Logic problems have come to replace some of the more traditional interview problems. Questions like “Imagine you have eight coins, seven of which weigh the same and one that doesn’t (it’s heavier). You need to use a pair of scales to find out what’s the odd one out.” The responses that candidates give actually reveal more to interviewers than questions like “Give us an example of a situation where you took the lead in a project.”

Logic problems give the interviewers an idea of how candidates solve problems and how they think under pressure. I tried a few logic problems and they are definitely interesting although I’m not sure how I would perform if I needed to answer several of them under pressure and a time constraint! Do you think logic problems are good replacements for the more traditional inteview questions? Do you think they test for the same thing?

260475358

--

--