Math isn’t so bad

All throughout my compulsory education I have never enjoyed the subject of math. It was in fact my least favorite subject in high school and I disliked it so much it bordered on hatred. I know most people reading this will probably agree (you know you do, don’t lie!)

Like most students, when picking what I wanted to study in university I didn’t entirely research as much as I should have. I have always been interested in psychology and it seemed the natural choice as I’ve often been complimented on my listening skills. The perception that psychology had less math involved helped as well. Imagine my surprise when I learned psychology does in fact involve math! After much soul searching (and whining) I decided to stick with it and now I’m glad I did. After a couple of statistic courses I’ve learned that math isn’t something to be feared. Sure it isn’t what I would describe as fun but courses like Psych 406 have shown me that it is important and it matters. Math is not just all abstract numbers, psychology test results have tangible meaning that can affect people and the world around us. So thank you for teaching me that math isn’t so bad and I hope you all have a wonderful year!

260561132