What Kpop song best describes your life?

CaS
Psyc 406–2015
Published in
3 min readJan 30, 2015
Image from http://www.kpopmagazin.de/2014/10/05/2ne1-an-der-spitze-von-billboards-world-digital-songs/2ne1-i-am-the-best/

We are surrounded by tests. Especially as students, our entire year revolves around tests, tests and more tests. Shouldn’t we be sick of checking a box every time we have a question in front of our eyes? Then why are we always tempted by that one Buzzfeed test that appears on our Facebook or Twitter newsfeed? Perhaps we want to see if the results will be an accurate representation of who we think we are. At least that’s why I do them. I LOVE knowing what animal I was in a past life, which house I’m meant to live in and or what KPop song will be my 2015 anthem. Maybe I’m looking to discover something new about myself or to confirm something that was already unconsciously brewing in my mind.

Let’s be honest, we’re all adults here, we all do them. We check a box based on choices that are supposed to represent us in various situations and then we are told something about ourselves. Something old, something new (something blue?) about the person we are supposed to be. Maybe we take these tests because we don’t know who we are yet and we’re still trying to figure what to do with ourselves. Maybe we are looking for justification for our actions. Or maybe we want to see how ridiculous the answer will be. The point is we give information about our likes and dislikes to invisible people and let them tell us things about our personality in the most trivial contexts. Did you really need to know which famous female author you were in a past life? Didn’t think so. We take — bad — personality tests every day! And we love them. We can’t get enough of them. I now know things about myself that the MMPI could never have told me. And the worst part is I consider the answers I get, I question them and compare these newly learned facts about myself to previously known facts about myself. But why? Why do I consider and slightly believe in the arbitrary? No one knows. These tests in no way have any sense in how our answers are scored, we can’t compare to other who have taken the test and in our daily lives the results have no actual influence. Anyone can make these tests and draw the lines wherever they want and a little part of me listens to what they have to say. No research has gone into the answer-result relationship and yet we give these results some credit to the person we may be. And university was trying to teach us to be objective about tests results…ha! They should take note from Buzzfeed. They know what’s up.

Whether we are searching for answers about our existence or to confirm that the person we think we are is actually who we are, we are going to continue to take these tests that randomly spew out an answer about “who we are”. Until I learn that these tests will never be able to pinpoint the person that I am or until I learn to do something more productive with my time, I am going to continue to believe that my dog type is a golden retriever, my personality colour is White, I am meant to live in a Victorian house and that B.A.P’s “One Shot” is my KPop anthem of the year (true story).

CaS

260530549

--

--