What career best suits you?

Andrea Roberts
Psyc 406–2016
3 min readFeb 1, 2016

--

The famous question “What do you see yourself doing in the future?” has plagued all of us at least once in our lives. Nonetheless, some may have a clear cut answer to that question but for others, like myself, it is a question that stresses us more and more as we get older.

It wasn’t a question I concerned myself with throughout high school but during my second year of Cegep it dawned on me that I still didn’t have an answer and so, the appointments with the career counselor began. She had me answer a few career aptitude tests, in hopes of narrowing my choices.

It was one of the first times I had taken this type of test, so I assumed they were reliable, valid and somewhat legitimate tests because the “career” counselor was having me do them. I didn’t question it.

The questions ranged from what type of personality best described me (i.e. introvert/extrovert), to whether I liked working with people, working with my hands or if I was more technologically savvy.

After answering close to a hundred questions, there was a wide range of answers from teacher and counselor to zoo keeper and fashion designer. The major theme that came up the most was about helping people. I remember one of the results was speech therapist and at the time, I truly thought I could see myself doing this in the future. With that in mind, that career suggestion influenced what program I enrolled in at McGill.

Because I was basing myself so much on this test, I soon realized during my first year that this was obviously not something I wanted to do. So I quickly changed into psychology and anthropology and I haven’t looked back since. However, most people don’t have that option to change so easily and may end up unhappy with the job that the career test had deemed fit for them.

I do believe this test can help people narrow down possible careers they may like to pursue, but it is important not to take this test too seriously. With career aptitude tests, it is easy to focus on the results you are presented with and ignore all the other possibilities. The results are computer generated and are only based on a small range of many possible career options. The career aptitude tests don’t take into consideration every aspect of a person and with that in mind, it is a great starting tool but should only be taken with a grain of salt; not as a final option as I had done.

ID: 260587409

--

--