Why is knowing your IQ so terrifying

The Lost Cause
2 min readApr 2, 2014

--

I do not know my IQ, it has never been tested. I feel like I should know it, as it is a concept often discussed in psychology. Although some researchers argue that intelligence is fluid, it can grow (as long you have a growth mindset about intelligence), others argue that IQ is pretty stable over time. Part of me wants to get my IQ tested, part of me is terrified of finding out the answer! Why is one little test so terrifying? In reality, the result will not change my intelligence, my status or my accomplishments. Knowing my IQ will not change my IQ, nor will it influence my future. However, part of me is afraid to fail; to realize that I am not smarter than the majority. It seems a little ridiculous that the results of a test -that will not determine anything more than what I already am- can destroy my self-confidence. I guess some people feel that way about getting on a scale. They are afraid of finding out they weight more than they previously thought, which will then decrease their levels of self-confidence (even if it changes nothing to their shape). I feel that way about my IQ. I am terrified of realizing that I am not as smart as I though I was. Getting a bad grade on an exam, which can influence my future, scares me less than finding out I have a lower IQ than I expected. It makes me wonder why we attach so much symbolic importance to the results of certain tests, and not others. Perhaps it is because we have a compulsive need to label ourselves? An exam has less symbolic importance because you take so many of them, that one exam does not define you. Whereas an IQ test clearly labels you.

--

--