An Open Letter to the Father I Never Knew

Donna L Roberts, PhD (Psych Pstuff)
Psych Pstuff
Published in
3 min readDec 15, 2019

--

Photo by Warren Wong on Unsplash

No you can’t talk about it

And isn’t that a kind of madness

To be living by a code of silence

When you’ve really got a lot to say

- Billy Joel, Code of Silence

I heard you died last May. Well, that isn’t exactly true. I Googled you. I didn’t have a lot of hope in finding anything (and maybe I didn’t even really want to) given your surname is so common. But there it was. Your obituary.

I felt . . . nothing. I wonder what that says about me. I wonder what that says about you.

I didn’t know your name until I was 27 years old. Did you know that? I asked several times, but by the time I was 8 years old I got the message to stop asking loud and clear. So I stopped. And I got on with my life. And that whole time you lived just one town over.

I finally found out about you when mom decided she wanted to go looking for my brother. My brother? I was an only child! But no, at 27 I found out that you and she had a baby boy 9 years before you had me. I didn’t see that one coming. It shook me to my core.

I learned that I lived with you for the first 18 months of my life. You, mom…

--

--

Donna L Roberts, PhD (Psych Pstuff)
Psych Pstuff

Writer and university professor researching the human condition, generational studies, human and animal rights, and the intersection of art and psychology