Working From Home-The Good, The Bad & The (Really) Ugly

Donna L Roberts, PhD (Psych Pstuff)
Psych Pstuff
Published in
5 min readJan 18, 2020

--

Photo by Kinga Cichewicz on Unsplash

THE STORY

Working first as an elementary school teacher and then as a college professor, I was surrounded by students much of the time. Though fundamentally an introvert, it was fun to explore my extrovert side. The students, especially the little tykes, were a joy to be with and provided plenty of mental stimulus. The rest of the time I indulged my introvert side.

Today, things have changed dramatically. Like many friends and fellow writers, I now work from home, often never meeting associates and colleagues in person. Not a problem for me I thought, since I loved being at home and working independently. A dream come true I thought, fantasizing about oodles of extra time and production. I’d have more quality time with family I thought, and family ties could only become richer.

It hasn’t exactly … AHEM … worked out that way. Let’s just say there’s good, there’s bad and there’s (really) ugly.

The Good

  • You can stay in your jammies as long as you want
  • You set your own schedule
  • You can focus without office distractions
  • Your friends trapped in offices are insanely jealous
  • There is no more office drama
  • There are no more office…

--

--

Donna L Roberts, PhD (Psych Pstuff)
Psych Pstuff

Writer and university professor researching the human condition, generational studies, human and animal rights, and the intersection of art and psychology