I took amanita muscaria mushrooms and went on a Hero’s Journey

Harlow Adair
Psyche-Delicacies
Published in
4 min readFeb 12, 2024

--

Amanita Muscaria. Fly Agaric. Reindeer Dream. Dwarves’ Wine. They go by many names. But any way you slice it, these somewhat psychedelic mushrooms are a bit peculiar. Being a seasoned psychonaut, I decided to try out the little mushies to find out what they were all about.

Photo by Guy Dwelly: https://www.pexels.com/photo/wild-poisonous-mushroom-growing-on-the-ground-6418210/

Time of ingestion- 6:30 p.m.

Amount: 4g with 25 mg of THC.

Route of Administration: I ate the 4g of Amanita Muscaria baked into a couple of brownies. The THC was an edible gummy.

7:20 p.m.- Things start to feel a little looser. My thoughts became more fluid and passed in and out of my head on their own accord. In my mind’s eye, the idea of an alien people with long faces and tall foreheads (much like the Easter Island statues) passed through. This was not a CEV, just a conception of my brain. It had some staying power, though. It felt like it had a weight of importance that it really shouldn’t have. This was my first indicator the amanita might be taking effect. The amanita muscaria nausea is offset by the THC, so it’s bearable.

7:45 p.m.- There really aren’t any open-eye visuals associated with fly agarics. Everything looks a little rubbery, sort of akin to the second plateau of DXM. I can’t explain this next part too well, but I’ll try: amanita speeds up the frame…

--

--

Harlow Adair
Psyche-Delicacies

I used to go on vision quests, but now I just get high. A 20-something pilgrim in the Middle West, USA.