The Psychological Reason You Should Refuse To Apologize

When it comes to saying sorry, don’t.

Zulie Rane
Psychobabbling

--

#sorrynotsorry Photo by freestocks.org on Unsplash

When I was a Masters student, I often had to ask research organizations to share their data for my thesis. One time, after sending an email, much to my chagrin I realized I’d asked for the wrong set.

I wrote them another email, apologizing for the miscommunication and asking for the other data set.

Before I sent it off, I gave it to my supervisor to check for tone and errors. She sent it back with just a single change: She removed the phrase “I’m sorry.”

“Never apologize,” she said to me as she handed me back my draft.

“Never pretend it wasn’t something you set out to do. If you go through life broadcasting every misstep you make to all parties involved, they’ll take you a lot less seriously, and you’ll take yourself a lot less seriously.”

Photo by Charles Deluvio 🇵🇭🇨🇦 on Unsplash

I was surprised. Apologizing, to me, seemed like a common and polite way to express your gratitude at someone taking time out of their day to do a small favor.

--

--

Zulie Rane
Psychobabbling

Writer and cat mom. Opinions are my own. This is my just-for-fun profile! My official Medium profile is @Zulie_at_Medium.