ADHD | Mental Health

Signs I May Have Undiagnosed ADHD

Surprising Behaviors That May Point to Your Hidden ADHD

Som Dutt ☯
Psychology Simplified
4 min readMay 24, 2024

--

Signs, I May Have Undiagnosed ADHD-by “Som Dutt” on Medium https://medium.com/@somdutt777
Photo by Hiki App on Unsplash

While learning, researching, and writing about ADHD, I found a few things about my nature that shocked me. I noticed I may have a few signs of undiagnosed ADHD.

I do not know to what extent I have ADHD or I just think I do. But I am sure that I often exhibit such signs. Therefore, in this post, I am trying to express the symptoms that make me think I have undiagnosed ADHD. And please share your feedback what do you think: Is this really ADHD, or is it just normal behavior?

1. I Often Lose Track Of Time

I focus well during work but I often lose track of time while working. I find it very hard to differentiate between what’s important and what’s not.

For example, suppose I have an exam tomorrow, and my friend visits today at my house for a discussion regarding it. I plan to give him 5–10 minutes. However, once I start discussing the topic, I lose track of time. After 30 minutes of discussion, my friend has to remind me to stop otherwise I can discuss non-stop.

There are so many topics and people, I can easily engage. Therefore, I am more likely to lose track of time. When it comes to productivity, I find it my weakness, because during that discussion I use up the important time that I am supposed to be spending on preparing for the exam.

I often encounter this issue in many aspects of my life. For example, I think a good workout session lasts only around 45–60 minutes, and most of the time, I start my exercise keeping that time interval in mind.

But when I start doing it, I get so much pleasure and adrenaline rush, that I start enjoying it more and end up doing it for 2–3 hours. Spending such time is good for muscle growth but I must have invested only half of the time in such workout sessions.

The same goes when I talk with someone, I am not the one who can talk on calls for 1–5 minutes. I always love talking for hours and I do not know why I am like that.

That is why I do my best to avoid talking with people and any other activities that do not lead toward my career growth.

2. I Have To Put Extra Effort To Get Into My Creative Writing Zone

Some people are very focused on their work. They are sure that they can quickly get into the creative writing zone and do things on time.

They are good at forcing themselves to work. Some people use caffeine and substances to get into their focused work zone.

I am not like them, I have to put much effort into getting into the proper mood for my creative and productive zone. If I lose this zone, I have to put in the same effort to get the same zone back.

I am not like others to can do anything and do not care about distractions. I have to eliminate many distractions to achieve my focus. People with ADHD suffer from similar problems.

In my case, I cannot write anytime. I need my specific mood and energy zone to write. I cannot write before my sleeping time. I cannot write when I am tired. I can’t write when I have returned from a walk. I need to fix and stabilize my mind.

Before, writing, I make sure:

My energy levels are up.

I am in a good mood, the environment.

There should be a pin drop silent.

I am not feeling hungry and sleepy.

I block YouTube, Instagram, and Twitter, close WhatsApp, shut down the Internet, etc.

That is why I do not live with my parents yet I love them but at home, I cannot get the desired environment to write and even think. My brain stops functioning well when I am surrounded by people. I need my solitude to fuel my creativity. I only function well, when I have laser-like focus.

If you have enjoyed reading my article, remember to comment, clap, and highlight. It will encourage me to write more content daily.

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

My book can be purchased using this link.

✔️ Please follow me (Som Dutt)

✔️ Please follow our publication Psychology Simplified

✔️ Please subscribe here to receive latest insightful stories by email

If you are interested in reading my long, and detailed analysis on similar topics please check out my website Embrace Inner Chaos

Tagging some of my random friends

Hermione Wilds Writes — Writer and editorGeorge WeeksSoulWriter 📖🖋️Kristy CGabriela Trofin-TatárSalihaPoet In The ArcticNicole Akers🥰Lanu Pitan🥰Belinda TakyiBella Smith ⭐Manisha DhalaniTim DahiBenjamin CainHein V 🌞🌈💖Ivanna Kanafotska

Don’t want to be tagged? Want to be tagged? Let me know in the comments! I won’t be offended either way! I approve of anyone tagging me

--

--

Som Dutt ☯
Psychology Simplified

Top writer in Philosophy & Psychology Since 2021. I make people Think, Relate, Feel & Move. For My Detailed Long Essays visit — https://embraceinnerchaos.com