Darlene

Stephanie Meade
Public Youth Project
2 min readNov 18, 2016

Name: Darlene U.

Age: 19 yrs old

B-day: Sept. 15, 1996

“I feel passionate about art. I draw a lot, almost all the time. Music is also important. I spend most of my time listening to music and drawing. Other than that, I watch a lot of movies.”

7/26/2016

I worked with Darlene today. She is an intern now, and the director of the center told me that she is a talented artist. The center has an internship program available to clients, which often leads to employment at the center. I asked D if she had ever taken art classes before. She said, yes, in high school. I asked about what sorts of things she likes to draw. She told me she especially enjoys drawing skulls, as well as portraits. I asked her if she would like to draw a self-portrait and write a little bit about herself, since the personal narrative comic prompts seemed not to fit her interests. She agreed. While we drew, I asked her if she has ever done art commissions for anyone. She said once, but the person never ended up paying her, and she was discouraged from it. She told me she gets a lot of her inspiration for art from Instagram, where she follows some of her favorite artists. She told me she likes sketching, and doesn’t like to color in her drawings. She likes to keep them just paper and lines. She gave me her artwork after and told me that I could keep it.

--

--

Stephanie Meade
Public Youth Project

Book worm - UCSC Class of 2014 - Currently a student in the Mass Communications MA program @ CSUN