EDITING PUBLICATIONS

One Editor’s Boilerplate Language for Recurring Issues

Save time by having boilerplate language for certain recurring issues plaguing editors

--

In editing for Politically Speaking, I find certain issues recur from submission to submission. I developed boilerplate language addressing these issues that I paste into private notes to the writer. This saves a lot of time and typing.

I list and reproduce them here for your consideration. Use any you find helpful.

For an under-editorial-review notice

Under editorial review.

[author]: Hi. Alex here. I’ll be your Politically Speaking editor for this article.

PLEASE DO NOT EDIT while I am. Two of us cannot work on the article at the same time. Doing so would cause me to quit editing and come back later as time permits. That could delay publication.

DO NOT DELETE THE PRIVATE NOTES until after publication. You may then delete them if you wish.

I will leave a note here when I am done.

Kicker-title-subtitle-image format suggestion

Medium’s curating and distribution algorithms expect to see articles formatted with kicker, title, subtitle, and feature image upfront. While your formatting is OK with Politically Speaking, Medium’s algorithms may…

--

--

The Wordsmith🏳️‍🌈🇺🇸™
Publication Creators Hub

Alex (Steve Alexander)/Existentialist Extraordinaire/Opinionated & grumpy gay septuagenarian contrarian content in his current station/alxfyv.Medium@gmail.com