4 Painful Reasons Why I Haven’t Been Publishing Consistently on YouTube

And how I’m reversing them

Gracia Kleijnen
Publish Consistently
3 min readMay 24, 2024

--

Person holding a camera in one hand and a mirror with a highrise building inside in the other. They’re wearing grey jeans, a white fluffy jacket, and white Nike sneakers.
Photo by Sydney Sang on Pexels.com

It’s the unwritten norm of consistency.

Publish one weekly long-form video on YouTube.

Ali Abdaal, top YouTube creator with 5.53 million subscribers, explains why in his “Sunday Snippets” newsletter:

  1. The YouTube algorithm favors consistent, regular creators
  2. Passers-by on your channel want to subscribe to creators with a consistent backlog of content
  3. You want to establish and expectation, especially as you try to grow.

How I’m doing on YouTube

I started my channel in 2018.

We’re six years in. I “should have” published more than 300 videos by now, but

  • Only created 112 videos
  • Grew to 1.16K subscribers
  • Am not (yet) monetized

I couldn’t be further off-target.

How many videos I’ve published

  • 2018: 34
  • 2019: 19
  • 2020: 1 (in December 2020)
  • 2021: 9
  • 2022: 9
  • 2023: 17 long-form, 9…

--

--

Gracia Kleijnen
Publish Consistently

Sheets & comics creator. Words on YT, relationships, mental health, productivity & self-development in 35+ pubs. 📕Book author: https://bit.ly/Gracia-Book