If you could go back in time…

Dunja
Publishing Well
Published in
2 min readJun 30, 2020
Thanks to Elizabeth Kay for sharing their work on Unsplash.

What would you do? If you could go back in time. Would you go for a couple of years back? Or just a couple of days back?

Time is a sensitive thing. We can’t see it but it runs out before us.

We can’t touch it but it leaves a mark on us.

It seems we need to work together with it rather than against it.

But what would happen if we could control it?
If we could go back and erase a painful memory?
If we could go and fix a mistake we made?
If we could go back and relive a moment we are so nostalgic about?

What would happen? Would we be satisfied? Reliving happy memories and changing bad ones.
It seems like such a wonderful thing to wish for. If there was a time capsule I would step in it and went back this second.

I could just see myself looking through the window of yesterday, relieved knowing It won’t exist the way it does today. Knowing there won’t be anything ugly about it.

All of a sudden I realize, I’m going back in time. I get this awful feeling of unsettlement in me. I know I can make it for the better, so what am I afraid of?
And it hits me like a meteor.
If I go back in time and change that awful thing I think about in the shower every night, I wouldn’t know the feeling of fulfillment when I took the action and did the right thing.
If I go back and fix myself my broken heart in a way that it never breaks, I suddenly don’t see a future where I know how to appreciate the right person for me.
If I go and relive that special moment, I realize it won’t be that special tomorrow.

So I jump from the time capsule, not knowing where I am nor where I’ll end up. However, a feeling of joy fills me up, knowing that I’ll always have my happy memories to cherish and my saddest memories to learn from.
So I continue to float peacefully, in a space filled with the unknown, called Life.

Thanks to Christian Nielsen for sharing their work on Unsplash.

--

--

Dunja
Publishing Well

Writing about anything I find interesting and inspirational