light shining into a cave
Photo by Bruno van der Kraan on Unsplash

To Tell the Truth: On Writing Memoir

A non-definitive guide to the genre

Julie Ranson
Published in
4 min readJun 18, 2020

--

Let’s explore what makes memoir and where to find expert advice about the genre.

Misconceptions about memoir abound. Memoir is not autobiography. It’s a short romp, a deep dark forkful from a slice of life, a story about something, but not a full account of one’s life. A memoir snapshot might look like one of these.

This happened and here’s the result.

OR

I encountered this and here’s what I learned.

How I decided to write a piece of memoir

Two years ago, my family had a bit of drama and it uncovered a part of my memory I had long ago sealed off. In this earlier article, I wrote about the dramatic lead up to my decision to excavate my heart and mind in a Celebrate Recovery step study. That period of my life was difficult, but what I learned from a lovely group of hurting women can’t possibly be calculated.

During that time, I also stumbled upon a shocking truth about my life that I am still waiting to fully reveal. Whenever I shared pieces of my experience, friends would say, “Oh, you have to write about this! It’s incredible.” However, I ask myself often — does every story need telling? The answer is a resounding, yes…

--

--

Julie Ranson
Publishing Well

Word Lover. Writer. Self-improver. Believer. Widow. Mother of three adults. Find me everywhere: https://linktr.ee/jjranson