Who Me?

Jui Chawan
Publishing Well
Published in
1 min readJun 25, 2020
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Who me?
I certainly don’t understand

Who am I ??
A person defined by a piece of paper?
A person made up of IDs and not by our assiduous tasks?

If I have papers,
I have an existence

And if I don’t,
I am a breathing corpse

Really, are we so ignorant
That a piece of paper
Holds the thread to our life

That without it,
We get nothing we deserve or desire
As the paper police have a barricade beyond our personal space
A space so small that will suffocate you
Leaving you in a cage of breathlessness

And even if we do
So wish to own one of them
Despotic regulations bar us
And we are left alone

Without any papers…
Without any…
Without…
You?

- Jui Chawan

--

--

Jui Chawan
Publishing Well

Amateur poet, avid traveler, a voice against gender inequality, bibliophile in the making and owl lover!