Why I No Longer Write For Forbes.com

Mat Zucker
Publishing Well
Published in
3 min readOct 1, 2021

--

Photo by Tareq Ismail on Unsplash

This past week, Forbes let me know that I will no longer be a contributor. Everything ends, of course, I just thought the reason here would be because of intermittent publishing or inconsistency with the Oxford comma. Apparently, though, it’s because I work in marketing. If one works in marketing I learned via an email on Monday, one shouldn’t write about marketing.

From the deputy editor: “Every year we evaluate our contributor network, reviewing a variety of factors in an effort to ensure all current contributors meet the rules and standards, some of which were implemented after you were brought on to the platform. Among those is a policy against recruiting anyone whose work touches marketing, as it can come with a built-in conflict of interest, or the appearance of one. It could create a conflict of interest.”

A conflict of interest? I know it’s a credible, national magazine, but c’mon. On the home page the other day was “Five Stunning Portuguese Cities To Visit After Lisbon.”

The truth is, I’ve loved writing for Forbes.com. Nearly 10 years ago, I started this column about creativity in marketing, publishing more than 100 pieces on topics from work in market and digital marketing to content strategy and career wisdom. I’ve shared insights and ideas, interviews of business leaders and entrepreneurs, lists of marketing classes…

--

--

Mat Zucker
Publishing Well

Marketing + content leader. Host: Rising & Cidiot podcasts. Author of career guidebook and memoir: Bronze Seeks Silver. linktr.ee/matzucker