10 Lessons I Learned From Neil Gaiman

#7. You cannot fix the perfection of a blank page.

Sergey Faldin 🇺🇦
Publishous

--

Neil Gaiman. Image courtesy of Masterclass.com

Neil Gaiman is one of the most famous English writers of fiction, comic books, author of theatre and film. He has won awards such as the Hugo, Nebula, and Bram Stoker.

He is full of creative wisdom and he is one of my heroes.

Here are the 10 lessons I’ve learned from him.

#1. Do Nothing, Or Write

This lesson from Neil is my personal favorite. As any writer (or creative in general) will tell you — starting is the most challenging part of the job.

In his interview on the Tim Ferriss Show, Neil says:

“I would go down to my lovely little gazebo at the bottom of the garden, sit down, and I’m absolutely allowed not to do anything. I’m allowed to sit at my desk, I’m allowed to stare out at the world, I’m allowed to do anything I like, as long as it isn’t anything.

Not allowed to do a crossword, not allowed to read a book, not allowed to phone a friend, not allowed to make a clay model of something.

All I’m allowed to do is absolutely nothing, or write.”

What I love about this rule is that it gives you space. You’re allowed not to write. But your mind is tricked…

--

--

Sergey Faldin 🇺🇦
Publishous

Honest thoughts. Unpopular opinions. Not necessarily true or smart. | The Guardian, Al Jazeera, Meduza | muckrack.com/sfaldin | Subscribe: sergeys.substack.com