5 Lessons on Writing by Ayn Rand

Ayn Rand’s writing tips on theme, plot, characterization and style.

N.A. Turner
Publishous
Published in
8 min readJun 24, 2019

--

Photo credit: aynrand.org

“To be the kind of writer you want to be, you must first be the kind of thinker you want to be.” — Ayn Rand

Recently, I came across the book ‘The Art of Fiction’ by Ayn Rand. An incredible account of Ayn Rand’s lectures on writing. And when Ayn Rand is handing out advice, you listen.

I count The Fountainhead among my favorite books. I loved Atlas Shrugged as well. Rand is a love or hate kind of writer. The ideas and themes she presents are provocative and serve as a philosophy itself.

Rand held that fiction has four essential elements: theme, plot, characterization, and style. In the book, the greatest emphasis is put on plot and style.

Her thoughts on writing are profound and eye-opening. Her advice invites me to work harder on my writing and improve my work on many levels. I even had another good look at the outline of my book and restructured my plot and theme. Plus, I thought even more deeply about my characters.

In this article, I will share with you the lessons I learned from the book.

#1: On the Power of Your Subconscious

--

--

N.A. Turner
Publishous

I write about writing & creativity. Short story writer and novelist. Amazon best-selling author. Free eBook with writing tips: bit.ly/TurnerMail