5 Reasons Why Writing Short Stories Makes You a Better Writer

Why You Should Write Short Stories

N.A. Turner
Publishous
Published in
5 min readAug 29, 2018

--

Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

“Write a short story every week. It’s not possible to write 52 bad short stories in a row.” ― Ray Bradbury

Previously I posted an article about why you should read short stories. In this article, I’ll argue why you should write short stories as a writer.

Years ago I attempted to write multiple novels. All projects failed miserably. It was too much. Too complicated. I got distracted easily. Usually by new ideas.

Enter the short story. If it wasn’t for my idea to start a website and publish my own short stories every month (commitment), I would have never continued to write fiction.

Writing short stories has taught me so much. It never ceases to amaze me where my next short story leads me and what I learn from it.

So, why should you be bothered to write short stories? Here’s why:

1. For Practice, Exercise and Finding Your Voice

When you write short stories on a regular basis, you will become better at writing. It’s an ideal way to hone your craft, to practice and to exercise.

--

--

N.A. Turner
Publishous

I write about writing & creativity. Short story writer and novelist. Amazon best-selling author. Free eBook with writing tips: bit.ly/TurnerMail