6 Unusual Lessons on Writing by Roald Dahl

Peculiar lessons about writing, curiosity, and serendipity by the magical author

N.A. Turner
Publishous
Published in
7 min readNov 19, 2019

--

Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

“If you don’t believe in magic, you’ll never find it.” — Roald Dahl

Roald Dahl is hands down the author who had the most influence on me when I grew up. I can’t even begin to count how many times I’ve read Matilda, The Witches and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.

His worlds filled with wonder, childlike curiosity, and what it means to be different are mesmerizing to me.

He believed in magic. Truly. Without believing in magic, he said, he couldn’t have become a writer. What does he mean by this? I think to him magic lies in our imagination. While we’re unable to wave a wand and cast Wingardium Leviosa, we can picture what would happen if we did in our mind.

To me, imagination is one of the most powerful qualities we humans possess.

Earlier this week, I stumbled upon a 2016 BBC documentary about Roald Dahl’s life. I loved it and feverishly made notes. Not only did he share with us the most amazing stories, but he also left us writers with invaluable wisdom. Here are some tips on writing and creativity that are as odd and unique as the man who brought us The BFG, The Gremlins, and Fantastic Mr. Fox.

--

--

N.A. Turner
Publishous

I write about writing & creativity. Short story writer and novelist. Amazon best-selling author. Free eBook with writing tips: bit.ly/TurnerMail