7 Lies I Desperately Want To Believe

All progress starts with telling the truth

John Mashni
Publishous

--

Photo by Jorge Salvador on Unsplash

I was sitting on a chair in a senior partner’s office. It was my first week as a bona fide lawyer at a big firm. I was dressed to impress. I had my yellow pad ready. I was prepared to practice law.

I listened as the partner explained a huge project. I wanted to be a part of it. It seemed interesting and challenging, and I was excited to help. After what seemed like entirely way too long, the partner stopped, looked me directly in the eye and asked me a question. He stopped talking and waited. A long silence ensued.

I didn’t know the answer to his question. Do I give an answer, and hope that it’s right? Do I pretend to know the answer? Do I start talking and not stop, hoping to eventually wind up in the right place? Do I make up an answer? It was my first week. I wanted to make a good impression. No — I wanted to make a great impression. But there was only one correct answer.

“I don’t know,” I said.

Silence.

Then, the partner said, “That’s exactly what I need you figure out. Can you get me an answer by Monday?”

I left his office, and walked briskly down the hall. The burden of weighing my options was gone. That’s when I learned the lesson. The cardinal sin was…

--

--

John Mashni
Publishous

I only write about what I have done: no theory. Writer, Attorney, Entrepreneur, Movie Producer, and more… the ONLY 3 ways to reinvent: goo.gl/S1Lu6x