8 Easy Ways to Get Organized — For the Chaos Gremlin in Your Life

What if you’re not lazy? What if you’re just neurodiverse?

Crystal Jackson
Publishous
Published in
8 min readDec 21, 2023

--

Photo by Jen Theodore on Unsplash

I remember the moment with great clarity. My friend looked across the room at me and asked how I’d never been diagnosed with ADHD. While I was obviously confused, he began to list traits he’d noticed that align with an ADHD diagnosis.

The Mayo Clinic lists the following signs of adult ADHD:

Impulsiveness
Disorganization and problems prioritizing
Poor time management skills
Problems focusing on a task
Trouble multitasking
Excessive activity or restlessness
Poor planning
Low frustration tolerance
Frequent mood swings
Problems following through and completing tasks
Hot temper
Trouble coping with stress

I could easily see my disorganization. I struggled with time management and focusing on a task until it was completed. I was easily overwhelmed and often impulsive.

Now, my friend isn’t a doctor or therapist. He couldn’t officially diagnose me. But it was the first time in my life that someone pointed to the chaos around me and suggested that it might have more to do with how my brain works than with me being lazy, careless, messy, or irresponsible. My constant state of stress, overwhelm, and inadequacy could be attributed to the fact that I…

--

--