8 Inspirational Life Lessons Harvested from My Garden

In case you needed these reminders today

Crystal Jackson
Publishous
Published in
6 min readAug 6, 2024

--

Photo by Jonathan Hanna on Unsplash

When I got divorced almost a decade ago, I had one true goal. I wanted to be able to buy a house on my own for my family. I knew there would be challenges in being a single mother, but I was determined to put down roots. It took a lot longer than I thought it would to save up enough to even think of buying a house, but after seven years, I was able to do just that.

Even though my property is only half an acre, I had big plans for that space. I wanted my kids to have the kind of treehouse I’d had as a child. I’d take a storage building and flip it into a truly epic she-shed home gym. I’d plant fruit trees that would remind me of picking cherries, apples, and blackberries on my grandmother’s property growing up. I would make our home a sanctuary.

And I did. It took a while, but I turned every dream into a reality. I planted fruit trees and a garden. In the process of caring for my dreams, I also began collecting inspirational life lessons.

Unseen progress and trusting the timing

I’m mowing my lawn when I pause to take in new blooms in my yard. A morning glory vine wraps itself around a plant stand on the side of my house. I remembered planting morning glories…

--

--