8 Lessons on Writing by J.K. Rowling

J.K. Rowling’s Writing Tips and Tricks Collected

N.A. Turner
Publishous
Published in
11 min readDec 20, 2018

--

© Reuters

I would love to read a book by J.K. Rowling about her writing process, just like Stephen King’s ‘On Writing’. So, Joanne, if you’re reading this, this would make a great Christmas present. Even an article would be fine 😉.

Last Christmas, I read the book “Harry Potter: A Journey Through a History of Magic” and it was packed with insights about J.K. Rowling’s writing habits. I was mesmerized. Discovering these habits I thought to myself: ‘I need to re-read Harry Potter and pay attention to her writing.’

During the winter of 2018, from January to March, I re-read the whole series. I had my notes app within reach along with a digital dictionary.

I’m not a native speaker, but I prefer to write in English for several reasons. Therefore it’s only fair I keep on studying the language to hone my craft. I learned many new words and expressions. But that’s not all.

I studied the pace of the books, the dialogue, the way characters are being brought to life — characters who’ve become household names.

Lastly, I’ve googled writing advice by J.K. Rowling and found wisdom in her commencement speech at Harvard. Sometimes she shares some gems of writing tips on Twitter.

--

--

N.A. Turner
Publishous

I write about writing & creativity. Short story writer and novelist. Amazon best-selling author. Free eBook with writing tips: bit.ly/TurnerMail