A Daily Dose of Death

What Methadone is really doing to addicts who seek recovery.

Christina Vaughn: Nurse, Writer, Creator.
Publishous
Published in
15 min readDec 14, 2019

--

Photo by Chaz McGregor on Unsplash

Methadone does not stop addiction. It stops illegal activity in the addict who previously aimed to get high and medicates a world of internal dilemmas, rather than lifting the addict out of the addict mindset and life.

The door slams, loudly. Repeatedly. They go in and they go out and then in and then out and in and out…and in and out.

I sit in the parking lot at the local “recovery” clinic that maintenance doses my son and hundreds of other would-be-recovering opioid addicts each morning.

I watch each one stumble, sway, or swagger in…all appearing to be high, 99% appearing unkempt, most with disjointed bodily movements, and all smoking outside the clinic before going in and after coming out.

They ALL appear to be zoned out, barely there-zombies.

I hear them yell at one another from across the parking lot. I hear the way they gruffly and angrily speak to one another and to themselves...or to no one in particular. I see such shame in their eyes as they pass by my car, as they look at me or don’t, as they leave the clinic with their heads…

--

--

Christina Vaughn: Nurse, Writer, Creator.
Publishous

Editor: The Shortform Publication. Published Author: Of Death and Brokenness. Medical Research Writer. Topics include wellness, mental health, addiction (+)