A Hope and a Purpose Beyond the Pain

Cori-Leigh
Publishous
Published in
4 min readOct 2, 2019
Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

No matter what you are facing today there is a purpose for your life. In every area of your life, there are many opportunities to grow, change, and heal. A chance to heal the broken places. Even while in the wilderness of whatever it is you’re dealing with.

I don’t know what life challenges you are living with today. I do know there is a hope for a better tomorrow. There is also a purpose for your life that takes you far beyond your circumstances.

When hope fades often we focus on all that is wrong.

Photo by Elly Johnson on Unsplash

Consequently, failing to see what is right. This was me years ago. Fear, anxiety, and panic attacks came for a long visit. Triggered by traumatic life events. I felt trapped in my circumstances. Hope for a better and safer tomorrow seemed far away. Healing and freedom appeared out of reach.

It took much longer to feel safe and peaceful again.

Photo by Ray Hennessy on Unsplash

As a single mother, I was raising two daughters alone. Financially things were a challenge with often not enough money to adequately make ends meet. The future seemed uncertain.

All I could see was the broken pieces of my life. Wondering if anything would ever be right again. Questioning how to put my life back together piece by broken piece.

I was like an injured butterfly who could not take flight into freedom. It was in learning how to find peace in the midst of my mess that helped set me free.

Life was complicated, confusing, frustrating, sad, chaotic, and painful. It actually hurt to wake up in the morning. I did not know how I was going to get through another day.

During this time I began to write more than ever before.

Photo by Ana Viegas on Unsplash

I found writing to be therapeutic to my hurting soul. On paper, I could pour out my feelings about everything.

Sometimes I read past journal entries from years gone by. Like looking at my life through a window and seeing the broken woman I once was. Held in those pages are broken dreams, seasons of grief, hopelessness, and sadness.

In the midst of all my brokenness and anxious fearful heart, God met me there. I’m still always amazed how he sprinkled the light of hope in my dark.

He gave me hope and a purpose that reached beyond my pain. I could finally dance in the rain. Not because all problems vanished but I had hope.

Cope with hope and find peace and joy in the midst of life’s challenges.

For me, one action that helps was my journal writing. I walked a healing road from brokenness and anxiety to peace and joy. Not the kind the world gives or even understands.

I found peace as I’ve never known it before.

Photo by Tj Holowaychuk on Unsplash

The kind of inner peace that only Jesus can give. Hope led to healing and finally peace. The world didn’t give me peace but Jesus did. I couldn’t give myself peace in the midst of my brokenness but God did.

There are still life storms that threaten to rock my world. Sometimes they do. Yet, I know for sure and certain that I don’t walk alone. He is with me as my comfort and strength.

Regardless of the extent of your suffering past and present, there is a hope and a future. One that is far brighter than you can imagine!

No matter where or how you are hurting. Your challenges of today can be transformed into blessings for tomorrow. Your future is bright and there is a bright light of hope waiting for you.

I’d love to hear from you in the comments below…

Can you remember a time when you were in a dark season?
How did you find hope for a better tomorrow?

--

--

Cori-Leigh
Publishous

Writer, blogger, and digital creator sharing insights on thriving in life and online, including blogging, writing, and building multiple income streams.