After Six Years Of Being A Digital Nomad, I’m Ready To Go Home

The romanticized lifestyle of perpetual travel is unsustainable

Matt Lillywhite
Publishous

--

Image licensed via IStockPhoto

I’ve lived as a digital nomad for six years. And during that time, I’ve enjoyed the privilege of visiting dozens of countries while working remotely. I make my own hours, spend all day writing, and earn enough money to pay my bills. But, I’m starting to realize that the digital nomad lifestyle isn’t sustainable long-term.

Why? I’m exhausted and feel like a perpetual tourist. Whenever someone asks where I’m from, I don’t know how to respond. Is it where I feel happiest? Is it the country listed on the front of my passport? Or is “home” the place where my friends and family reside?

I naturally assumed moving back to my hometown in southern England would solve my problems. However, it didn’t take long for me to experience a psychological phenomenon known as reverse culture shock.

Everyone’s life in my hometown was the same as when I left. But travel molded me into a global citizen — because I adopted various habits from cultures around the world. So, when I tried to readjust to life in the UK, it felt like I had arrived in a foreign country. Robert Black’s explanation of reverse culture shock therefore sent chills down my spine as it spoke to me on a deeply…

--

--

Matt Lillywhite
Publishous

Full-time storyteller. Want me to edit your work? I'm doing it for people who sign up to my Substack. https://mattlillywhite.substack.com/