Are You Needlessly Pessimistic About a Beautiful World?

Cognitive biases can make our lives harder than they have to be.

Anangsha Alammyan
Publishous

--

Photo by Mert Talay on Unsplash

A few weeks back, I had one of my “episodes.”

I wasn’t fulfilled with my work. The money in my bank wasn’t flowing as steadily as I’d have liked it to. No matter what I said or did, my partner and I never seemed to be on the same page. Online, my views were falling, and no matter how frequently I posted, I couldn’t keep up with the 60k monthly views I otherwise averaged.

Things got so bad I had to get on a call with my therapist.

“When have you last practiced gratitude?” she asked me.

This hit me right where it hurt. Yes, I was going through a rough phase, but I also hadn’t taken out time to appreciate all the good things I still had going on for me.

As if this wasn’t enough, I came across Mark Manson’s recent video, where he talks about something known as “The Blue Dot Effect.”

This is based on the research Harvard psychologists carried out a few years ago. It suggests that our mind is conditioned to look for threats and issues, regardless of how safe or comfortable our environment is. Clipping Chains calls itPessimism in a Beautiful World.”

--

--