Are You Productive, Or Are You Just Busy?

Completing tasks on autopilot is the most dangerous thing you can do.

Anangsha Alammyan
Publishous

--

Image by the author.

I was 27 when I realized I’d wasted my life.

I kept making goals, achieving them, reviewing progress, and setting new goals. But behind all this hustle, what was I trying to achieve? I had no clue!

Completed to-do lists and exhausted journals don’t indicate productivity. They indicate you’ve been busy.

But been busy doing what?

I was merely living life on autopilot, going through the motions my 9-to-5 demanded. There wasn’t any passion, no active zeal to achieve my dream.

My schedule was perpetually packed. There was always something to do. I barely had time to breathe, but all my activities never led me anywhere.

I was stagnating, stuck in a loop. It felt like life was passing me by and I hardly could notice.

“If you don’t have time, the truth is, you don’t have priorities.” — Tim Ferriss.

If you’re feeling the same, maybe it’s time you took a step back and analyzed the toll your quest for productivity is taking on you. Are you actively working toward a goal, or are you filling up your schedule with tasks that lead nowhere?

--

--