Are You Tired of the Daily Grind?

Nancy Kay Grace
Publishous
Published in
3 min readApr 16, 2018
Photo by Caleb George on Unsplash

We are busier beyond what we can handle.

The blur of activity of the daily grind becomes a badge of identification stating “I have so much to do and it all matters.” We become addicted to busy-ness.
Our time is filled with caring for our families and making a living. These are very good things, but too often we leave out the most important relationship: our connection with the Lord. Our drive-through lives leave Jesus by the side of the road as we go on to the next activity.

The Lord doesn’t demand us to do more, more, more. On the contrary, He teaches us to rest in Him.

Even when crowds pressed in on Him, Jesus slipped away to make time with His Father. He drew strength from it.

In Matthew 11:28–30 Jesus said,

Come to me all who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.

We are often yoked to heavy responsibilities with our families and full calendars of activities. Life feels heavy. People are demanding.

We cry out in desperation: “How can taking on another yoke help out when I’m so busy? I don’t need another thing!”

Jesus used the metaphor of a yoke to teach us.

A yoke is the wooden collar, which joins two animals, usually oxen, to enable them to pull together. [1] When animals are trained with a yoke, a younger, weaker ox is paired with an older, stronger one. Over time, they learn to work together, walking in step with one another.

Jesus said his yoke is a positive thing.

When we are yoked with Him, we learn to walk in step with him. He helps carry the burden that is on our backs. His yoke brings relief to our overly active souls.

Are you yoked to your own burdens that are wearing you out? Are you yoked to your calendar that you live a drive-through life?

Another version of Mathew 11:28–30 reads:

Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me — watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace.” (The Message)

The antidote for the stress of busy-ness in the daily grind?

Rest in the grace of the Lord.

Photo by Ilham Rahmansyah on Unsplash

“My soul finds rest in God alone; my salvation comes from him.” Psalm 61:1

Are you willing to give up the pressure of the daily grind and find rest for your spirit in the Lord?

If you found this article helpful, please clap or share. If you would like more grace in your inbox, please go to https://www.nancykaygrace.com to sign up for the GraceNotes monthly newsletter. Thanks!

[1]Manser, M. H. (1999). Dictionary of Bible Themes: The Accessible and Comprehensive Tool for Topical Studies. London: Martin Manser.

--

--

Nancy Kay Grace
Publishous

Award winning author of The Grace Impact, Christian women's speaker, married to Rick, loves hugs from grands, piano, hiking, travel. Shares God's grace.