As A Blogger, Here’s What I’ve Given Up To Be ‘Successful’

Tom Kuegler
Publishous
Published in
5 min readSep 13, 2019

--

A few weeks ago I went to an Applebee’s in town and sat by myself for an hour.

As soon as I walked in I felt like everybody couldn’t stop staring at this lost soul by the bar.

The three friends sitting across from me couldn’t stop staring, at least.

I called my “best friend” here in town to see if he wanted to join me.

No answer.

I called my other friend who was going out that night and got a lukewarm response.

In the end, it’s my fault anyway.

I’ve built no roots here.

I’ve Given Up All My Relationships

What is a success anyway?

Am I successful? Because I have X amount of followers and email subscribers?

Because I’m just starting to make money blogging now?

The truth is I’ve given up so much.

All my best friends live somewhere else. I have nobody here in Bel Air, Maryland that’s really my friend.

--

--

Tom Kuegler
Publishous

Travel blogger. 30 years old. Currently in Mexico. Subscribe to my Substack: https://mindofawriter.substack.com/