Belief is No More Than a Simple Matter of Choice

Luke Rowley
Publishous
Published in
2 min readNov 28, 2018

--

Photo by Josh Boot on Unsplash

Belief is incredibly powerful. It can do so much good. Belief in positive things can change our lives, right down to our character.

I wish I believed more.

I don’t know that this feeling ever goes away.

Whether it’s belief in ourselves, a bright future, our loved ones, and even God, we all wish we could believe more.

As a boy, sitting in church I remember listening to people speak at the pulpit. I often heard phrases like:

“I KNOW that God answers prayers”

“I KNOW that God lives”

This always confused me. I never understood how they could say that they knew these things.

Had they seen God? How did they KNOW that He was there?

As I got older and came to believe for myself, I caught myself saying the same things over the very same pulpit. I sometimes still make the same mistake, but thankfully, now I’ve learned better.

I don’t KNOW any of these things.

I don’t KNOW that my future is bright.

I don’t KNOW that I will improve my financial situation.

I don’t KNOW that God lives and answers prayers. I have never seen Him.

--

--

Luke Rowley
Publishous

Goal Engineer. Get my free 5-day email course to learn my 4–4–4 goal-setting system so you can stick to your goals all year long: https://bit.ly/3f8bhyR