Did I tell you about the skeletons?

La McCoy
Publishous

--

The Skeletons went up October 1st. My dear neighbors did not wait for something decent like the 25th

or the 29th. They charged out on the 1st of October and worked their deed.

Eery white skeletons with bony smiles occupy lawn chairs. They appear engaged in romantic dancing. They sit in bushes and trees in bunches. Skeletons on display were not something I ever wanted to imagine. Now it is in my site with every glance outdoors.

Normally the home is a cute delightful, quiet neighbor. A lovely driveway with blooming flowers and hand groomed shrubs. The home stands empty most of the time as a delightful pearl in the neighborhood.

But, then the Skeletons came.

I stuck it out with my lip buttoned for days. I thought I can make it to the end of October without complaining or making a rise. I see no need to complain about what I cannot change.

“Let the neighbors have a little fun I thought.”

My dear fun neighbor said he counted 17 skeletons. That seemed excessive. I did not double check his count.

Hubby came in one day and huffed. “They are edging on our property.”

That was all he said and went on his way. I was glad he did not voice more.

Edelweiss our elderly white german shepherd was so confused. She stood at the window barked at the skeletons forever. There was no convincing her they were a holiday display.

A neighbor came from a block over and said, “My your neighbors are old.”

I was not the only one ready for the skeletons to go where old skeletons go.

I squeezed my fist and waited for October 31st to come and go.

No one keeps Halloween decorations up past Halloween. Do they?

Oh no! Silly me.!

How could I even think of limiting Halloween to the last days of October?

I glance toward my neighbor. Red and green tinsel sparkle in the bright Florida November sun.

They skeletons are wearing Santa hats.

Their shoulders drip with green tinsel.

Sigh. More haunting time with the skeletons.

Feeling low, I braced my self for skeletons through Christmas.

Yet a thought haunts me.

How long can you squeeze the life out of skeletons?

Will they show up with Valentine’s hearts in January.

I so hope not.

When can old skeletons die?

When will the curse of the skeletons ever end?

--

--

La McCoy
Publishous

Fun helping Independent Artists Market at FB Genre Spark. Follow Edelweiss!: http://germanedel.blogspot.com/