Dispelling 3 Myths About Therapy

No, we don’t do that here

Crystal Jackson
Publishous
Published in
5 min readMay 9, 2024

--

Photo by Nik Shuliahin 💛💙 on Unsplash

As a practicing master’s level mental health clinician, it might seem like I have a vested interest in convincing people that therapy is essential. After all, it’s what I get paid to do. But long before I was ever a practicing therapist, I was a client.

I remember the first time I sat in the waiting room of a therapist’s office. I felt a mixture of embarrassment, shame, and fear. I didn’t grow up in a family that went to therapy. It wasn’t normalized in schools or churches. If I was going to therapy, something must be wrong with me. I must be crazy. At least, that’s what I told myself while I was waiting to meet the therapist who would change my life.

I was surprised to discover that therapy was nothing of what I had heard about or feared. It has been the single most helpful thing I ever did for myself. After that experience, I studied to become a therapist, but that wasn’t my last time sitting in a chair as a client. I still have a therapist I can call as needed — one who has been absolutely essential in helping me heal from trauma.

Dispelling 3 Persistent Myths About Therapy

With all that being said, I thought it might be helpful to dispel a few persistent myths about the process. I still hear these all the time…

--

--