Do You Worry About Dropping the Ball?

The surprising benefits of not being on top of everything

Elaine Hilides
Publishous

--

A girl dropped the balls she was juggling
Photo by Marije Woudsma on Unsplash

When I worked in corporate organisations, I hated the team-building exercises companies had to execute for their staff.

This is especially true of the common ice-breaking ploy where people would sit in a circle, and the group leader would throw a ball. Whoever caught it had to share something about themselves.

I often wondered what would happen if I sat with my arms crossed and refused to catch the ball.

I’d probably be branded as difficult, and the powers that be would decide I wasn’t a team player.

They’d say that I wasn’t playing ball.

Do you feel that you have to catch the ball? Maybe not a physical ball. but a metaphorical ball that stands for something else.

It could be a problem, an argument or too much responsibility. But whatever it is, you don’t have to catch the ball.

Catching the Ball

You don’t have to catch the ball when someone throws it.

Unless you’re in the park in the middle of a game.

If someone throws a problem at you, it’s their problem. Unless they specifically ask you for help, it’s not your…

--

--

Elaine Hilides
Publishous

I can help you go from anxious to peaceful. Wellbeing coach for over a decade. Author, and International speaker, lives by the sea. elainehilides.com