Don’t Limit Your Future By Dwelling On Your Past

Bobby Benavides
Publishous
Published in
2 min readNov 27, 2017

--

It is difficult to move on from mistakes. I constantly find myself reflecting on things I wish never happened.

There are painful memories that, no matter how hard I try, will never be erased. So, I carry them with me as I journey into next chapters of my life.

Before we were married, my wife and I were very transparent with each other in regards to previous relationships. We sat for hours talking about our poor decisions and grew closer together through the conversations.

Yet, I still found myself feeling guilty and, at times, I continue to do so.

I praise God I am not defined by my past.

If I allowed my past to provide my identity, then I would be walking in a continuous broken state. I would be limited in how far I could go in my life, due to my inability to see my worth beyond my flaws.

There are so many people who walk around beating themselves up over their “checkered” past. They cannot see beyond their painful memories in the mirror to see the beautiful creation God has designed them to be.

You may be one of them.

Let me say this, nobody will reach their destination if they focus on their rearview mirror, and not the road ahead.

Yes, it is important to reflect on what is behind you, but for safety purposes only. You watch your rearview mirror to be cautious of what is around you and what is behind you.

When you look back on what you experienced, it is to be aware of where you came from and be prepared when the scenarios return.

If you sit, dwelling on the past, you hinder your ability to move forward.

Learn from your mistakes. Grow from them. Do not allow them to define you or keep you from experiencing what God has to offer you in life.

He has defined you for eternity and my prayer is you can embrace that truth.

We all have pain we carry. We all have mistakes we wish could be erased. We just have to decide how we move forward.

May you move forward reflecting on your past, not dwelling in your brokenness.

--

--

Bobby Benavides
Publishous

Lead pastor of New Community Covenant Church:Elkins in Elkins,WV. Author of Made For More: A Journey of Discovery and Purpose.