Emotional Authenticity: Rejecting the Concept of ‘Wrong’ Emotions

Can an emotion be wrong?

Elaine Hilides
Publishous

--

Faces of two people
Unsplash+ In collaboration with Natalia Blauth

No turkey for me, I’m plant-based.”

The anaesthetist turned and looked at me properly. “I’ve been flirting with this idea. What are you going to have?”

This was the week before Christmas, and I was about to undergo a mastectomy and Diep Flat reconstruction to rid my body of cancer for the second time.

We’d been talking about Christmas lunch as I stood by the operating table wearing the duvet-like wrap, aptly called a ‘Bair Hugger’ designed to keep my blood vessels warm.

Well, we’d better get going.” He finally said after a chat about vegan food, “And I’ll give you something to relax you, although looking at your monitor, you hardly need it.”

I had also almost forgotten why I was there. But one of the nurses tutted, “It’s not normal to be so relaxed.” she hissed. “Most patients are scared.

I was like many other times in my life, expressing the wrong emotion.

The Wrong Emotion

Have you ever been told what you should feel?

I told a friend that I wouldn’t be surprised if my daughter and her partner got married when they were on holiday for a month.

--

--

Elaine Hilides
Publishous

I can help you go from anxious to peaceful. Wellbeing coach for over a decade. Author, and International speaker, lives by the sea. elainehilides.com