Set Yourself Free In 17 Seconds Or Less

Barbara Carson Todd
Publishous
Published in
3 min readNov 28, 2018

--

Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

Diving Into The Deep End

When I first started transitioning from daydreaming to goal-setting, I felt like I’d fallen into quicksand. I was just overwhelmed: too many goals, and no strategy. I felt like a drowning person, flailing around. Too soon, the time I’d set aside for achieving my goals, an hour or so each day, was gone and I had very little to show for it. What was going on? This was my time to push ahead, to succeed. Why was I having so much trouble getting started?

I felt lost and hopelessly inadequate. Clearly, I was just a loser. Other people could succeed, but it was beyond me. After a while, I gave up and went back to working on other people’s agendas, helping my writing clients achieve their goals.

There Must Be A Better Way

Months went by, before I got up enough courage to try again. By now I’d identified the real problem was negative thinking. I didn’t think I could do it, so my subconscious was nodding in agreement and proving me right.

I started looking for a practical solution to negative thinking. I found Leslie Householder’s Stickman video, and read her book The Jackrabbit Factor. And I had an idea: what if I could change my thoughts for just a few seconds, once a day? That seemed like an achievable goal. I gave it a try.

--

--

Barbara Carson Todd
Publishous

Writer, editor, advocate, occasional organist/cantor. You can find me at barbaracarsontodd.com or on https://nyaddcares.org.