Grieve The Loss of The Narcissist But Not Before You Have Let Go

Amelie Bridgewater
Publishous
Published in
6 min readOct 28, 2019

--

Letting go of someone you love with Narcissistic Personality Disorder.

When my husband was diagnosed with Narcissistic Personality Disorder (NPD) 20 months ago, I was still in love with him. Perverse yes. But I was of the not-uncommon misconception amongst spouses of narcissists, that he was a deeply bruised and muddled person that just needed love to be healed.

We’ve heard that old chestnut before right? The battered wife who thinks ‘if I just love him a bit harder, if I just give him more of myself, maybe he will change, maybe he will be happier.’

If only.

We are now divorced, co-parenting our beautiful little girl who is 3 years old.

Together for 11, married for 3, when the diagnosis came it literally crashed into me like a 4x4 careering into my side at full throttle. I was thrown into the air where I floated in disbelief before diving headfirst into the concrete, my world tumbling down along with my body and mind. I was in a physical and psychic pain that words cannot describe.

I read the personality test report together with my ex-husband and therapist in the very same room at the very same time. Although the words Narcissistic Personality Disorder were omitted from the document I knew what the words…

--

--

Amelie Bridgewater
Publishous

Mummy. Mental Health Advocate. Adorer of Great Coffee. Lover of all Acts of Kindness. Reach me at ameliebridgewater@gmail.com