Why Your Vows Mean More NOW Than Your Wedding Day

Adam Hillis
Publishous
Published in
4 min readDec 13, 2018

--

from Pixabay

I vow to fiercely love you in all your forms.
I promise to never forget that this is a once in a lifetime love.
You will always know the deepest part of my soul.
No matter what challenges may come, we will always find our way back to each other.

-from the movie, The Vow

I had the privilege of attending dozens of weddings in my early twenties. Many were friends, but most were by way of working for an entertainment company that provided bands, DJs, sound reinforcement and more.

During those years I heard several iterations of vows. Some traditional, some personally written, and others a combination of both. I grew to appreciate the clarity and precise promises made in traditional vows, which is what my wife and I chose for our wedding.

Regardless of the exact words, the underlying message of all wedding vows is that we love each other and will stay together no matter what happens.

When we’re starry-eyed staring at our spouse-to-be the vows are gushy and lovey-dovey, and I wonder if we realize what we are saying in the moment; what we are promising.

In all honesty, I remember more about the pictures we took and the acapella group that entertained our guests than I do the ceremony and what we said to each other. But through the miracle…

--

--

Adam Hillis
Publishous

Crafting educational email courses for coach/creators || Coaching men to connect w/ their wife & kids, and themselves || I juggle marriage, kids, and words