How Quitting Professional Blogging Radically Improved My Life

Sam Holstein
Publishous
Published in
5 min readMay 14, 2023

--

Photo by Tim van der Kuip on Unsplash

Running my own passive income online business was my fondest dream for my entire life. I mean my entire life — I remember being in second grade, organizing binders full of business ideas and fantasizing about becoming a millionaire CEO one day. (Yes, I was an insufferable child).

Since I grew up when the iPad came out, I tried my hand at app development for a few years. But my passion was never for software. It was, above all, for the written word. So as soon as I was old enough to know what passive income blogging businesses were, I knew what I had to do.

And I made a pretty good go of it. I wrote 500+ blog articles, convinced thousands of people to sign up for my mailing list, made thousands of dollars a month on Medium, produced and sold online courses, and lived on my blogging income for several years. I know many people out there would give their right arm to experience the success I enjoyed.

But the dream wasn’t all it was cracked up to be.

Professional Blogging Kept Me Poor

It was cool to live off of passive income and not be beholden to keeping bosses, coworkers, or even particular customers happy. I had to keep my thousands of readers happy en masse, of course, but that’s not the same as having the entirety…

--

--

Sam Holstein
Publishous

Articles that teach you how to master your mind ☞ free stuff at www.samholstein.com