How To Become Who You Want To Be Immediately

Self-actualization lies in the present, not the future

Michal Bernolak
Publishous

--

You probably spend a lot of time thinking about a beautiful future that does not yet exist. Don’t worry, I do too. I can’t wait until I become a writer. I can’t wait until I become wealthy. I can’t wait until I get X so that I can get Y.

I try to do that less, though. Not long ago, I realized, that sort of thinking leads to a whole lot of pain and suffering. It ultimately leads to dissatisfaction with what I have, because I am not thinking about the good things that surround me.

Do you catch yourself doing the same? Do you relish the mere thought of self-actualization? Do you find yourself saying, “I can’t wait until I become X”? There is a far better and more fulfilling approach to becoming who you want to be. You have to understand this:

Whatever action you take now will be the same action you take later

Let’s take writing or becoming a writer as an example. This can apply to any profession of choice. As a writer, what do you imagine you’ll be doing if you become a published, successful writer?

Writing. Lots and lots of writing.

--

--

Michal Bernolak
Publishous

In the process of self discovery. I learned to write for over a year, but am now learning to code.